#FrankieWIP Not Really…PONY POST!

Frankie Av

As you will be aware from my earlier blog I was at a Passenger concert last night. As a result, I am very hoarse, tried and sore and really not wanting to be on camera today! So, instead, enjoy a slideshow of almost my entire collection of My Little Ponies through the years. You can see how they’ve changed as the video goes on! (At bottom of post! )

Why do I collect ponies? Well, that’s actually hard to explain. I’m not a girly girl, more a tomboy and always have been. I played with action men and toy cars as a kid…but there was always My Little Pony there to remind everyone I was a girl.

I had a modest collection as a child, and when I became a teenager it quickly became uncool to have toys. I was loathed to get rid of my ponies though, and kept them anyway, secreted away in my cupboard. Then one day my friend’s kid sister said she wanted a My Little Pony. I told her I had some she could play with, but she took it I meant she could keep them. I wasn’t really too bothered as I knew they were going to a place they would be loved. So I gave my little collection away to a little girl who wanted a pony. Then I grew up and realised…I still loved My Little Ponies!!
In a bid to get my collection back I hit thrift shops and car boot sales in search of a Moonstone; my all time favourite pony. I finally found her one day down at a car boot sale at the Clyde Side. She was sat beside another two ponies and I grabbed them up and took them home. I’m now 42 years old and have been collecting My Little Ponies ever since!!

I’m not an overly fussy collector. I’m not in it for the resale value and certainly not in the habit of paying big money for any. I just love them–even the ones in need of some TLC. I take them in, do them up and add them to my collection. I’ve restored old toys for years and now most of the old and broken ponies look just as nice as the newer and well cared for ones in my collection.

How many can I cram into the spaces of my home? Well, I am in the middle of trying to find out as the collection grows almost every week. I had to sell some a few years ago as there was no room! 😀 Anyway, enjoy the video, and I will be back next week! Have a great weekend!! Peace and Om x

F.R. Donaldson lives in scenic Scotland. She is the author of the psychological sci-fi MALEVOLENCE

 

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on December 8, 2016, in #FrankieWIP, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

