#WeCreate: Daruma Creative Graphic Design

Sam av

An odd thing happened to me on Thursday. And, before we get into it, I’ll warn you…it’s going to seem like yet-another-Pokemon-Go-post at first blush.

I’ll give you the option of skipping it. You’re an adult. I mean, this is half my blog and what I write is half the reason you are here, but…there are always choices. If you don’t want to read about how I found about this amazing graphic designer, you can just skip to “Back on topic” below.

Let me tell you the story how I kind of accidentally made friends with one of the head honchos of the Other Team I Absolutely Despise.

I’m on Team Valor.

Team Mystic is scum.

There’s this place about an hour from my house that has the sweetest Pokemon lure. It has become a sort of Pokemon Mecca for players everywhere. Over time, there have been two regularly recurring groups of players…one for each team. I am one of the regulars for the Valor group. We post up at this winery for hours at a time. We hang out, chat, and generally do all of the social things we’ve probably never enjoyed in our entire lives. We set up chairs and just chill.

I learned the first time I went that there is also a Thai restaurant. Being an adult, I decided I wanted some rice on a whim. I can do that if I want. Hung out there for a bit, talked to the waitress about why I was there…generally had a nice time.

There are ‘spies’ on both Facebook pages – Mystic players on the Valor page, Valor players on the Mystic page. We’re generally the assholes of this game; we like to watch when Mystic whines about our general superiority. It gives us life.

Thursday there was a kerfuffle. One of the Mystic players apparently accused our team of loitering, littering, lacking in all common sense, and ruining things for everyone. This had been a growing pattern for a couple of weeks. They’re pretty salty they can’t hold gyms. It didn’t take long before irritation became character quality attacks.

After the whole thing pretty much imploded, I messaged the admin of the Mystic page. I introduced myself and explained how things go down at the winery. Namely, that our buddies are huge fans of the pizza at the establishment, that Thai food is awesome, and that our friends bought wine there over the past holiday weekend. We pick up after ourselves and take our comportment pretty seriously. Definitely no loitering. Definitely no littering. There’s plenty of parking and we’re not very noisy.

Well, after the business was handled, we learned we had quite a bit in common. Then she bought my book. Then she showed me her graphic design page and we geeked about creative endeavors. This ended with us deciding we needed to drink alcohol in public and gush about creativity.

So somehow I’m now besties with the enemy. I guess we’ll see how that goes.

But all of my friends have moved away and life has been pretty shitty lately. Maybe a new local friend is exactly what I need.

Back on topic. 

Here’s her website.

I don’t know what I was expecting when I clicked, to be perfectly honest. Graphic design is a broad field. I know that they often do logos for businesses, but that it’s not always a design they love.

But check these out!

I really like this one. It’s nice and calm with cool colors. It’s neat, not too busy. I think that this floating island series stands out to me as the kind of logo I’d be most likely to use as a business. It’s clean and easy on the eyes.

I also love this one. Here is what she says about it:

Made this piece for a member in a Mystery art exchange. Her favorite genres were rap, punk, metal, 60’s hippie music, and EDM. In doodling, I made a little bird head and neck and thought how cool a series of birds coming out of speaker birdhouses would be. So here’s the final project. Made in Adobe Illustrator.

Again, I love the colors. She’s got a great way of using colors that aren’t offensive. This would be a pretty sweet T-shirt.

I wanted to link a whole bunch more, but the Instagram page doesn’t allow it. You’ll just have to click and check them out for yourself.

What I like about her as an artist is that she clearly has a diverse set of skills. There are gritty, messy designs to please an artful soul, but there are also sharp, clean icons for business logos or perhaps buttons. There are even a few full pictures, some that might even work for book covers!

Needless to say, I was quite impressed!


S.K. Balk lives in the frozen wasteland of Northern Michigan. She is the author of the dystopian medical sci-fi THE BLOOD OF NERYS (also available in print).

 

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on September 11, 2016, in #WeCreate and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

