#WeCreate The Beauty of Inspiration

Frankie Av

I love art. I love artists. I love creativity. There are so many beautiful people out there who share their work for all to see, free of charge. It’s not often that my head is swayed; I have particular tastes when it comes to art which I do not produce myself.

Being a fan of Naruto, I searched for fan art for the show when I first got into it. While there are many varied themes for a multitude of characters from the anime, there are only two artists who stand out and who I follow, creating imaginative and beautiful works which transcend the anime boundaries. Their art takes the characters and places them in worlds unknown to the manga or anime.

The two artists I speak of are Kanzzzaki and Kejablank on DeviantArt. While their own original art is beautiful and well executed, I really want to show how one person’s creation, can become another’s inspiration. (Some pictures are incorrectly resized due to my gif maker. See original artists page for full picture resolution and size. I encourage you to look at all art on both artists pages!)

My favorite character from Naruto is Kakashi Hatake. Now, he looks pretty cool in the anime, and has a backstory most writers would bleed their veins just to imagine. What these two artists do with this character is simply astounding.

What I love about Kanzzzaki’s art is the the way she presents the character in scenes we are not familiar with and so perfectly believable. Her careful base line art is beautiful, but the colouring of her pictures is so delicate that they just grab your attention and make you want for more. The way she uses light is amazing, from the sun shining through a window, to the light of the moon, each picture utilizes this natural agent in realistic and beautiful ways.

 photo kanzaki sideshow_zpsmzbj6ak6.gif

Kejablank’s art is just as wonderfully crafted and similar in style to Kanzzzaki. Kejablank creates such detailed and realistic pictures which blow me away. Her execution is impeccable, her colouring striking and bold. The body poses and perspectives she uses are just sublime. But, it is her monochromatic pieces I love the most. The base line art is gorgeous, the shading just beautiful. Her works are dynamic, eye-grabbing and just so damned lovely.

While all of these pieces are amazing, imaginative and beautifully created, they were based on another’s character; that of the great manga artist, Masashi Kishimoto. In the realm of creativity, there are two things going on here. There is the original idea, the original story so well crafted by Kishimoto and loved by so many people around the globe. The story  of Naruto itself is a piece of art, the art is some of the best in the manga world. But there is also the secondary creations of other great artists, inspired by these well crafted characters and loved so much that they are created over and over in ingenious ways that the art, story and soul of the original character continues to live on, even though the original Naruto story is over and ended–in the manga at least.

This is what art is about. Whether you rate fan art or not is beside the point: you can not tell me that these two artists works should be shunned because they are not originally their idea. Every story ever told came from somewhere. Every piece of art was created by an idea which has roamed through the head of countless others over the centuries. But, what we see is an evolution of a character simply because the character is loved so very much by so many. That is what art and creative imagination is all about.

If I can inspire art or words through my own characters, then I know I have written something which is worthy, something which means something, and I am more than pleased to see such work. Unless someone claims my work as their own or plagiarizes my writing, I am more than happy to see other people imagining scenes from the story in other ways. It means that my story and my characters made a lasting impression. It means my story and characters meant something to someone, so much so that they HAD to write or draw them in ways I didn’t imagine. And this has happened. I have art and words based on my story and characters, made by others.

This is what art is all about. It is why we create. Not to make money, not to get one up on another, not to make a name for ourselves. Don’t get me wrong, being paid for writing and painting is fantastic! But, we do it to inspire, to craft a tale or image which will make people think or take them away from dull or painful lives even if it is just for a moment.

Art, writing, crafting, singing, composing, filming, and all other forms of creativity, are a lifeline and an escape from the humdrum of life. If the fears and worries of everyday life can disappear–if only for a moment–then, it is all worth it.

F.R. Donaldson lives in scenic Scotland. She is the author of the psychological sci-fi MALEVOLENCE

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on September 3, 2016, in #WeCreate, Frankeh Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

