#SundayReview Star Trek!

Frankie Av

I am a huge science fiction fan. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Stargate, Farscape and many more. What I like about science fictions shows is how they ask the same questions I ask, sometimes even answer them. I love the fact that–for a short time–these types of shows suspend reality and plunge us, the viewer, into a world we could never be part of.

This year sees the 50th anniversary of Star Trek. It is one of the longest running science fiction shows of all time, beat only by Doctor Who, I believe. Star Trek was my first love. I remember watching it as a child on a big old tube television while laying on the floor and munching on sweets. Back then the special effects were not like what we see today. But as a child, it didn’t matter how good the effects were as we became immersed in it anyway.

My favourites are the Original Series (TOS) and The Next Generation (TNG). I do have a like for Voyager, somewhat enjoyed Deep Space Nine, but absolutely hated Enterprise. I recently pulled out my box sets and started a rewatch of The Next Generation. Looking at it now you can see that it is older, but it has aged well. The effects are good but not great, it is cheesy in parts and awkward in others. Yet it remains just as thought provoking, mostly well written and as good to look at as ever. Despite its age the stories are just as relevant today, asking the same questions, dealing with the same human problems. Just like Doctor Who, there is a Star Trek series for everyone and a captain for all. Picard and Kirk are mine, and I have watched these two series so often I almost know each episode scene for scene. For the record, my favourite ST ship is the USS Enterprise (NCC-1701-D)

I have the movie box set with the movies from TOS and TNG. I aslo have the new films on bluray. Rewatching them from the very first to the last, you can see the evolution of special effects through the years. Obviously you can tell which scenes were stop motion or used models in the older films, yet it was so well done–at least, most of the time–that it was believable. Each movie looks better than the last, but each one is just as enjoyable as the rest.

The very first convention I ever went to was a Star trek one in Edinburgh years ago. It differed from the ones I attend these days in that there was no actor presence nor huge queues or crowds. It was more like a mobile museum of Star Trek, with screen props, costumes and uniforms as well as storyboards and original art. I absolutely loved it, being so close to items which I had seen on the television for years. The captain’s chair from the TNG show was there and while no one was allowed to sit in it, I kind of….well, let’s say I got my moment of being captain. 

With news of a brand new series planned for next year, and a new generation of movies being created, Star Trek continues to entertain viewers and wow movie goers. With the special effects available today, the new Star Trek movies are spectacular! A sheer smorgasbord of awesomeness! When I watch them I am pulled back to my childhood and feel like I did back then; astounded, amazed and excited.

It is the kind of Science Fiction show you can watch over and over again and still find it fascinating. The only other shows I watch over and over again are Stargate Atlantis and Farscape, but they are too short when compared to the massive amount of episodes Star Trek has. It has entertained me for years and will continue to for years to come. Is it obvious I love Captain Jean-Luc Picard? XD

If you have never watched an entire series of Star Trek, maybe you just haven’t found your captain. With five to currently choose from, I’m sure there is one for you. Anyway, I’m about to embark on a mission, to rewatch the entire TNG,  to boldly go and view the next episode and reacquaint myself with The Skin of Evil……ENGAGE! XD

F.R. Donaldson lives in scenic Scotland. She is the author of the psychological sci-fi MALEVOLENCE

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on August 7, 2016, in #SundayReview, Frankeh Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

