#FrankieWIP Emergence at the Starting Line!

Frankie Av

I’m afraid I am unable to make a vlog today due to work being done in the house. It’s too noisy and distracting!

Anyway, this week I have been concentrating on plot points for Emergence and gearing up for writing again. As I explained in this blog post, there are a few stages I go through on the run up to writing a story. I appear to be marching into the first stages now!

I might have a writing OST  for the story. As you know, Malevolence was written to Chad Lawson’s: The Chopin Variations. At present, it’s the X-Men: First Class OST which is making me excited and wanting to write. I love orchestral scores, especially movie scores–I own many and listen to them often. I put this one on last week and felt the familiar pull of ideas and the yearning to write kick in. Since then I’ve had the soundtrack playing on repeat and ideas cementing in my mind. It’s now part of a growing playlist which I plan to use  while writing Emergence.

I’ve began to withdraw from social media. This often happens when I wish to concentrate and it isn’t something which I purposely or consciously do. I just seem to drift away from this particular distraction when I wish to write and I noticed how much I’ve been away from the internet a few days ago and recognised the sign.

I’ve been frequently scribbling down ideas. In the past few months my ideas have been pretty poor and I’ve forgotten too many. But in the past week I’ve managed to come up with some good ones which I think might prove interesting. I have them all written in a Google Doc so I don’t forget them and I must say I am excited over a few.

I appear to be getting into the mindset for writing, at last able to imagine the entire Emergence story just in the past few days. It’s a sign that I’m almost ready to get a first draft charted out. I even have ideas for the Emergence character board and hope to create it over the weekend.

The Malevolence Character Board

I’ve pulled out my jotters for making my bubble charts, created folders for chapters and drafts, and a G-doc folder is ready for backing up documents. I’ve grabbed all my pens and pencils, highlighters and blank pads ready for use. I’m getting my laptop and desktop computer tidied up, organizing folders and programs in preparation of writing. I’ve even managed a first draft of the first chapter!

All in all, it looks like Emergence is at the starting line waiting for the green light to shine! By the time the school holidays are over, I’m hoping to be ready to go!

I might pop up a bonus vlog tomorrow if I get five quiet minutes to make one. But if I don’t, I will speak to you next week! 😀

F.R. Donaldson lives in scenic Scotland. She is the author of the psychological sci-fi MALEVOLENCE

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on July 28, 2016, in #FrankieWIP, Frankeh Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

