#WriteTip Netbooks!

Frankie Av

While I’ve been out on long journeys these past couple of weeks, I’ve taken along my trusty little netbook. Not my big, heavy laptop, but the little one I decided to buy a few months ago. I used to wonder if these tiny laptops were useless, with such small keyboards I thought one would need tiny hands to use them, and they do have their limitations with software, storage and memory. But what I discovered is a writing tool which is easy to type on, simple to use, clear of screen, lightweight and small.

I wanted to write in bed and my large laptop is just too big and too bright to do that while my husband sleeps. I think tablets are fab for watching things, for reading on and playing games, but I personally find them useless for serious writing. I also didn’t want to use my tablet or phone to write on when out and about, on journeys, or during long times away from home. I wanted a good screen size with a proper keyboard. All of this prompted me to try a smaller laptop so I invested in this small netbook. I found that these little netbooks are great things for a writer on the go. It also helps with my bad memory XD

 photo DSC_0289_zpso46atsrv.jpg

I still use my large laptop and my desktop computer for large projects and intense writing, but I can sit and write a chapter or two on my netbook in comfort, in bed–or like recently–in the car! Wherever!

 photo f68ee5d4-3006-4fcf-afbe-905e3917190c_zpseisyxe0q.jpg

So if you can afford one, these small versions of a laptop are cheap as chips on the likes of Ebay and local trade sites. Obviously you have to be careful with buying such an item second hand. Remember to look at feedback of the seller, check the photos for condition of the item. Make sure it comes with everything it is meant to, see if there are any extras. Make sure you take note of the RAM before you take the plunge as some models run terribly slow. Mine is an Acer Aspire One, running 2 gig of RAM with an SSD drive. I got it for less than £30 and it came nearly mint, in box with extras, hardly even used. In fact, I’d go so far as to say it had been used a handful of times before being boxed up and sold on.

 photo _20160722_210744_zpsecbjxtub.jpg

I liked mine so much, and found it such a cheap tool I actually bought another within a week of buying the first: one for use at home, and one for use out and about. Both were in similar price range with all the extras and memory/RAM I wanted (Runs 4 gig of RAM but a slower processor) the second one is the slightly larger model. My smallest is a 10” screen, the other an 11.6, which is so much easier to carry around than my big 15” business laptop!
 photo _20160722_210644_zpsxgbvrbzg.jpg

So if you think something like this might be useful to you, have a look for one that suits your needs and go for it. I didn’t regret it, I don’t think you would either 😉

F.R. Donaldson lives in scenic Scotland. She is the author of the psychological sci-fi MALEVOLENCE

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on July 22, 2016, in #WriteTip, Frankeh Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have the Aspire One, the old model from 2009, in burgundy and 10″ screen. I love my baby to death. Her only problem after 6 years is the wifi, she refuse to connect and stay connected to any wifi. I use her still and since I don’t have internet on her she never breaks down. This year I got an HP for my birthday that it’s 14″ screen but I’m still using my baby girl for anything writing related because I just love that burgundy lady so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

