#WhateverWednesday: Elizabeth Haydon’s Symphony of the Ages

Sam av

I’ve had an exciting day.

Since I got the iPhone, I’ve been trying to avoid getting lost to the wilderness of apps and the Internet. It’s always been my issue with smartphones…that they’re just another way for people to dumb themselves down. In true Sam fashion, I’m rebelling. Instead of loading it with games and sitting on Facebook, I’ve been using my iPhone to try to make my brain better. I read the news and listen to informative podcasts, including two new subscriptions to mythology and writing podcasts.

However, I’ve lamented (ha…this is funny…you’re about to see why!) that I don’t have any books on my phone yet. The phone comes preloaded with iBooks, an eReader. But lately I’ve not been able to stomach the free books (I keep trying…they aren’t grabbing my attention). I don’t read enough because I’m just not finding anything all that interesting. I’ve been missing that feeling I get when one of my favorite authors releases the next book in my favorite series…a feeling so intense that I completely drop everything, clear my schedule, and shutter myself into my room to read.

I was talking just this morning to my boss about how I needed…SOMETHING…to put on iBooks, so that when I was bored somewhere I could read instead of playing Flappy Bird.

And then today I get this email…

“HEY SAM! One of your favorite authors released a new book! Hey, guess what! It’s a new book in one of your favorite series! Hey, you know what else?! It’s the LAST BOOK in that series! It’s the END! MAYBE MAYBE MAYBE it’s going to pan out the way you always hoped! WANT TO FIND OUT?!?! Oh, also? It looks like this:”

 

Me: “OMG email…are you fucking kidding me?! OF COURSE I WANT TO READ THAT.”

I couldn’t hit the purchase button fast enough. Gleefully, I perused the interwebs, wanting to read the synopsis and such. Then I read a curious little tidbit. “Book Nine of the Symphony of the Ages.”

Hang on.

Nine?

Are there really nine books?

Wait.

Have I read eight other books?

*counts in head*

No…I think it was six.

*Googles*

HOLY SHIT THERE ARE TWO MORE BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!

PURCHASE!

PURCHASE!

Conveniently, my vacation starts today. I’m going to read the shit out of these, I think.

Since this isn’t a #SundayReview, I’ll just give you the quick rundown. Basically the premise of this book is that this singer is fleeing her stalker and runs into a couple of unsavory characters preferable to her stalker, so she affixes herself to their party and uses them to escape. So they escape through this tree (like the World Tree, Yggdrasil), travel through the earth, and emerge on the other side.

Except the world as they knew it has been destroyed, and is completely different now. And they’re immortal.

It’s lovely…so well-written. And as you might tell by the title of the series, there is a lot of music woven into the words. I should probably reread the old ones, in fact, but in the interest of time I probably won’t.

I’m so happy to have books on my phone now. Hopefully, it gets me reading more!

S.K. Balk lives in the frozen wasteland of Northern Michigan. She is the author of the dystopian medical sci-fi THE BLOOD OF NERYS.

 

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on June 22, 2016, in #WhateverWednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

