#WhateverWednesday: Pokemon Sun & Moon!

 

 

green

An exciting development in Pokemon news hit us in the face last week as Pokemon Sun and Moon were announced, with a USA release date of November 23, 2016.

SunMoon Covers

I’ve been playing Pokemon my entire life. I started collecting the cards when I was in fifth grade (1998-1999). I got my hands on my first Pokemon Gameboy game–Red–by borrowing it from a friend. The save battery was dead, so my first tentative steps into the Pokemon game franchise were taken late at night and into the middle of the night. I couldn’t save the game, so I couldn’t shut it off. I played as long as I could, then I quietly set the Gameboy down and went to sleep. When I woke up, I started playing from where I left off.

Since that, I’ve acquired Pokemon Red, Blue, Yellow, Silver, Crystal, Sapphire, Emerald, Pearl, Leaf Green, Heart Gold, Soul Silver, Black, White, Black 2, White 2, X, Y, Omega Ruby, and Alpha Sapphire, as well as Pinball and Pinball Ruby & Sapphire, and the Trading Card Game for Gameboy. I’ve never skipped a generation of Pokemon, which incidentally is THE only reason I have now upgraded to a cell phone–because Pokemon Go! is imminent, and I just have to have it.

I love the Pokemon games for many reasons, but the reason I like to tell people is that Pokemon is as easy or as hard as you want it to be. Casual fans can simply go through the game, catching whichever Pokemon they please, defeat all of the gyms and Elite Four and call it good. Completionists can seek out all 700+ Pokemon, a monolithic feat that involves reclaiming old Pokemon from older versions of the game, trading with friends, porting over Pokemon through the PokeBank software or wireless connections. PvP type players can enjoy battling their friends or strangers over the Wireless.

Of course, if you want to be REALLY good at PvP battling, there’s a whole new world under the surface that will help you create the very best Pokemon the game is capable of producing, then get increasingly tactical with how you can put together your team of six with a single hold item and wreck the competition.

I’ve tried this. I thought I was the very best…like no one ever was…and then I entered a competition and could not win ONE. SINGLE. MATCH. I’m not kidding. That was when I really started to learn how complicated Pokemon could be.

Defeat the eight gyms and the Elite Four? Check.

Complete the Pokedex? Check.

BE THE VERY BEST LIKE NO ONE EVER WAS?

Games I have not been able to master are maddening. Now I HAVE to be the best.

But for me, my passion for Pokemon is renewed when a new generation of Pokemon is released. It’s incredibly difficult for me to recreate that first time I played Pokemon, when all of the Pokemon were new and I was exploring the world for the first time. The only time I ever get close to that same feeling is with a new generation of Pokemon. New Pokemon, new regions, new legendaries, new moves, new items. I look forward to mastering the new generation and putting together an improved team.

Of course, we have had our differences, the new generation of Pokemon and I. Every new generation has these stupid things no one likes:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Though none of those are even half as stupid as this:

vanilluxe1

Really, I just think it’s utterly ridiculous to make Pokemon that resemble objects. It takes away from the “wilderness Pokemon” ideal that I have in my mind about all of this awesome, powerful animals I can tame and befriend. It becomes more like a horror film where anything you touch can and may attack you.

I tend to love animal-shaped Pokemon a lot more, most especially dinosaurs, dogs, and vicious jungle cats, like these:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As for Sun and Moon, very little has been release so far. But let’s go ahead and look at those cover arts again:

SunMoon Covers

What you see there that you’re probably as excited as I am about is a FUCKING SUN LION. A SUN LION. Oh my goodness. Can you imagine how epic that is going to be? A friend of mine referred to it as Super-Saiyan Entei, seen here:

entei

Accurate.

So the legendaries are Sun Lion and Moon Bat! They’ll have real names soon enough, but I’m good with Sun Lion. I can’t wait! What type, do you think? Pure Fire? I HOPE SO! 😀

And then, last but not least, the Starters:

Pokemon_SunMoon_Starters

Popplio, Rowlet, and Litten!

As is typical, they will be water, grass, and fire types. There is rumor that Popplio becomes a water/fighting and Litten becomes fire/ground, but nothing is confirmed yet. Hopefully, we’ll know sooner rather than later!

What are your thoughts? Let me know!

S.K. Balk lives in the frozen wasteland of Northern Michigan. She is the author of the dystopian medical sci-fi THE BLOOD OF NERYS.

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on May 25, 2016, in #WhateverWednesday, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

