#WeCreate: Artist FireEagleSpirit on DA

green

I am not much of an artist. At best, I think I’m well above average but not even close to skilled enough to consider making this my career. As I’ve told Frankie, I think I will stick to what I’m good at, and my gift is the gift of words. However, I love art. Evocative works of art are incredibly powerful for conveying thought and emotion and a limitless supply of inspiration. I have a DeviantArt account and there are days where I just seek out art for hours upon hours to disturb my emotional center. Frankie and I have had more than one evening where we just fling fan art back and forth and sigh over it.

Today I want to highlight an artist that is very special to me. Their artist handle on DeviantArt and Tumblr is FireEagleSpirit. I love her style. It just strikes me as so complete and sleek. I could imagine an entire anime film done in her style no problem, and I feel like it would be the most gorgeous creation to see on screen.

ice_and_fire_by_fireeaglespirit-d7k6yzj

Lyanna Stark and Rhaegar Targaryen

I discovered FireEagleSpirit while I was writing Forever, a Naruto Fan Fiction love triangle set in the Founders Era. I was about halfway through and really starting to get into the unexpected feelings I had for the characters and what I was putting them through, so I was on the hunt for some fabulous fan art. It was Toka who led me to her gallery. Toka is a rarely depicted character, having only a couple of panels in the manga and as little screen time in the anime (incidentally, this is the reason I adore fan fiction…the fanfic community has developed her into this amazing bad ass worthy of respect).

peach_flower_by_fireeaglespirit-d83m0rd1

This was THE picture that drew me in. 

But more than just Toka, she has Toka and Mito:

sisters_in_arms_by_fireeaglespirit-d7rmc2h1

They look like an indomitable team. 

Mito and the Founders:

equilibrium_by_fireeaglespirit-d7sa8lx1

I love how serene she looks here, even though the two men are always at odds. 

As well as this series that makes the characters look like they’re at a masquerade ball (gorgeous!):

 

madamito__kitsune_and_tengu_by_fireeaglespirit-d6ncr6g-1

And these fantastic black and whites:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She has also invented these original characters:

uchiha_and_senju_moms_by_fireeaglespirit-d62r7201

And she’s got a whole series of her own original characters:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All all, FireEagleSpirit soared straight to the top of my favorite artists list and remains there to this day. Her work is truly inspired and gorgeous, and every time she posts something new I just sigh in appreciation. Check her out on DeviantArt and Tumblr!

S.K. Balk lives in the frozen wasteland of Northern Michigan. She is the author of the dystopian medical sci-fi THE BLOOD OF NERYS.

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on May 21, 2016, in #WeCreate, Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

