On Plot Bunnies and WIPs

green

Sam here. 🙂

Hey all!

So the other day, someone in my local writing group asked in a rather frustrated manner how some of us writing veterans deal with all of the plot bunnies. And then someone else asked if they should save the second half of their novel for next year’s NaNoWriMo (the answer to that is a resounding ‘NO’).

Naturally we responded by discussing the nature of plot bunnies and the large number of Works in Progress (WIPs) that we each have. As a treat to you, I’m going to discuss these topics in the video and write about my WIPs in this blog post. Before we get to that, note that the titles I’ve provided are a silly working titles and I’m not sold on the titles yet, but the files have to have names.

WIPs

  • A Shiny for Trick (complete, 17K words)
  • The Blood of Nerys (in Beta, 79K words)
  • Achillea (revising, 95%, 120K words)
  • Sequel to Achillea (25%, 30K words)
  • Sequel to sequel of Achillea (unstarted)
  • A Con of Mages (?%, 2K words)
  • Windcursed (20%, 19K words)
  • Angrad (?%, 1K words)
  • Empress 10%, 8K words)
  • Fever Dream (50%, 40K words)
  • I Will Destroy You (?%, 16 words)
  • I Wish [Labyrinth Fanfic] (15%, 3K words)
  • Meridell [Neopets Fanfic] (20%, 3K words)
  • Monarch (?%, 2K words)
  • The Strange Courtship of Life and Death (?%, 1K words)
  • Toast (?%, 70 words)
  • Wimzee (?%, 3K)
  • [Radial Series] (Unstarted)

 

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on December 2, 2015, in Sam Updates, The Dead Pete Society, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. First. Thank you for making this video because honestly my biggest problem, besides I don’t know how to outline to save my life, are the plot bunnies.
    Second. I agree with you that the best way to take those suckers down from wherever they’re jumping to freak anyone out it’s to write them down. Not too much, because you can get sucked into the new shinny idea story for a long while.
    One more thing… HOLY FREAKING COW! You have that many on going WIPs??
    Last thing, I promise… Bad idea, creating a new SC document every time you have a new bunny in your head… You will end up full of them and taking over your computer space in no time flat xD

    Like

    • First, it was my pleasure. I am glad you enjoyed it!

      Yeaaahhh… I never suffer for ideas, that’s for sure.

      I don’t run out of space to put files. 🙂 I have external hard drives and my computer still has plenty of space. ^_^ One of the things I do in my free time is make AMVs (Animated Music Videos), so I have a lot of video clips saved on my laptop. Those take up a LOT more space. 🙂

      Thanks, as always, for taking the time to comment. I always enjoy our conversations!

      Like

Leave a Reply

