If You Have a First Draft… What’s Next?

green

Sam here! 😀

We’re in the home stretch of NaNoWriMo (seven days left!). To all the writers out there, this is an exciting time. Either you’re frantically trying to catch up, frantically trying to finish, or… frantic. You’re just frantic. Maybe you just completed a draft or are about to complete a draft. And maybe it’s your FIRST DRAFT EVER. Maybe this will be your first novel. Congratulations to you!

What do you do when you finish it?!?

What you don’t do is publish it. PLEASE don’t publish that. Your word-baby needs nurture and care. In this video, I’ll talk about that.

I’m also offering my services to you as a beta/editor for free.

For free.

FREEEEEE.

And no worries. I have zero interest in stealing anyone’s story. I have my own style, I write really fast, and I have a real, deep, abiding fear of breaking rules (which includes laws). Furthermore, and this is my arrogance talking, I love my own work more than I would love putting my name on someone else’s.

If you’re interested in having some help, you can email me. My email is on our profile page, but I’ll give it to you here as well: sammykaye9@gmail.com. I’m going to want to talk to you a little as a human being before I go ahead and just accept your story, so please don’t just dump your manuscript in my inbox and run. Bonus: practice by sending it with a query letter and I can critique that, too. I have experience with writing them (and being rejected a lot).

Let’s fill the world with great stories and change it for the better. 🙂

OK. Onto the video.

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on November 23, 2015, in Information, Sam Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Did you went crazy behind my back??
    Ok. It’s tempting to have you in mind as a beta reader for when I finish re-re-re-editing the first draft that I’m still writing hahahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

