Get Ready, Get Set…..!

green

So for starters, here’s this video. It’s an editing update and I got to dress like a ninja! Happy Halloween!

Today is October 31. Some people know it as All Hallows Eve. But for me, it’s League of Legends Worlds and NaNoWriMo Eve. I went to the grocery store to acquire some necessities for the egg rolls I am making for the party, and whilst there I belatedly realized that I was not at all prepared to sustain myself throughout the month of November. You see, the thing about taking binge-writing holidays is that one tends to forget about the other people that rely on you. For me, that’s my husband. *laughs*

Twice a year I duck out of existence for a month at a time. Once is in November. The other is in June for the Neopets Altador Cup. My husband, who is also a gamer, understands the need for a person to completely check out from the real world, so he’s pretty understanding. However, as a good wife, I have to keep in mind that he often works into the late evening, so I like to have something easily available to eat for when he gets home, lest he resigns himself to Taco Bell instead.

So here’s what I get, leading into November:

  • Frozen pizzas (Brad)
  • Hot Pockets (Brad)
  • English Muffins (Me)
  • Cinnamon fresh ground peanut butter (for my English Muffins)
  • Coffee, as much as possible if on sale (Me)
  • A case of water (Brad, Me)
  • Veggie Straws (Brad, for snacking)
  • Terra Chips (Me, for snacking)
  • A couple of those fruit juices like Bolthouse/Naked (Me, so I can stay healthy)

When I go on a writing bender, the pattern tends to be the same. I get home from work at 4 p.m. and start a pot of coffee. I pour a giant cup of coffee and start drinking it. I take that first ramp up of caffeine to look over what I wrote last or get in a little indulgent social media time. When the caffeine starts to kick in (around 6p or 7p), I finish off the coffee and start another pot. Then the writing begins. I write into the night, and usually at about 11p or midnight I get hungry and make the english muffins. By the time the english muffins are gone, the second pot of coffee is as well. I make the third pot. If I’m still awake around 4-5 a.m., I may make another. Usually around then I can determine if I have enough energy left or not. If I don’t, I start winding down to sleep. If I do, I’m digging in until about 9-10 a.m.

The best of my writing always always always occurs around 12-4 a.m.

Do your habits change when you’re in a writing mood?

Leave a comment below. 🙂 See you in November!

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on October 31, 2015, in Information, Sam Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

