Reponse to Frankie’s Vid

green

Frankie’s video made me need to say things! So in this video I talk about:

  • My works in progress (fanfiction)
  • Posting all at once vs. chapter-by-chapter (fanfiction)
  • The beauty and strength of fanfiction.
  • Posting reviews
  • Work/career things
  • “Writing Rules”
  • Just wriiiiite.

What it all comes down to is that I have faith in the power of imagination, and I think the more one constrains it, the worse the end result. If you’re an artist of any kind… just let go. Create.

Also, I decided not to post my 50SoG opinion. I’ll keep it to myself for now. 🙂

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on February 20, 2015, in Sam Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed that video, and I like your attitude. I think what you need to do, though, is to take that attitude you have with writing fanfiction and apply it to your own worlds and characters. Take chances. Try new things.

    I agree with your opinions about the “rules” (to an extent – I *am* an editor), but the thing to remember is that you have to know them to break them, then do so with purpose.

    Good stuff. I’m glad I watched.

    Like

    • Sam says:
      Thank you!!!
      It’s something we’re working on, actually. I’ve finished my first novel and am querying it currently, and just finished a shorter work, too. I’m just now starting to write another novel.

      Fanfiction is a delightful trap. It’s so easy to write, and it’s something we know and are used to already, so it’s something we to which we keep going back. We have established fanbases and it’s basically a playground for writing experiments.

      I feel like I’m on the edge of a breakthrough.

      What you’re witnessing right now in the blog is a bit of publisher exhaustion, I think. We’re still a bit new at this, so I, for one, feel like I’ve been trying for so long to appeal to the powers that be and fanfiction is like my writing vacation.

      I’m getting back into my groove now. ^_^ I think I was just a bit burnt out.

      Thanks for the comment!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

