All Nighter

green

43,817. The number of words I have so far cut. I’m thinking about logging these. Some day I’m going to look back over my theoretical publishing career and mourn the loss of the hundreds of thousands of words that no one will ever get to read. Maybe each year I’ll celebrate them alone and with booze. “Cheers to the words that were too purple for my prose.”

(For those of you who don’t know… ‘purple prose’ is a term for language that is considered overly complex, wordy, and unnecessarily flowery to tell the story. I am constantly guilty of this. I am also not ashamed of it. I wish publishers liked it more. A story that is cousins with poetry appeals to me).

One thing I wanted to add after I had already filmed the video:

Everything you say on the Internet is permanent. As writers, our reputations are all we have. I worry that someday I will ruin mine when I’m upset. A lot of people do. The one thing all of us will have in common is rejection, both by agents/publishers and our readers. It’s important to stay professional. I read somewhere to never blog about your rejection.

I’m going to blog about my rejection. It’s part of the process and it needs to be shared. I know it will happen. I do, however, pledge to never mention names, and I won’t rage. I will be upset. I’ll probably cry and be sad. But it’s not an agent’s fault if they don’t choose your work. Finding the right agent is akin to finding your soulmate. If they rejected you, you’d have had a bad relationship anyway because your interests are not the same. The right agent will be one of your biggest fans. Rejection is good for both of you. It’s a renewed opportunity to find the right agent. (I’m looking at you, senpai.) But it will still hurt, and it is important to me and to you to share the sentiment that we are not alone. Every artist has been rejected. It strengthens us. As I like to say, it separates the men from the boys. You need a thick skin to get through all of this. Writing is a discipline as well as an art form.

Did senpai notice me today?

Answer: No.

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on January 5, 2015, in Information, Sam Updates, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

