Twitter Pitches!!! #SFFPit #PitMad

green

In this one I talk about how Twitter is unexpectedly amazing and exceeds my expectations, particularly when it comes to these silly one-tweet pitch contests like PitMad and SFFPit.

I also discuss how Frankie and I seem to have settled on different publishing goals and where we are at with that. 🙂

Information can be found here:

SFFPit: http://dankoboldt.com/sffpit/

PitMad: http://www.brenda-drake.com/pitmad/

Also, I promised to explain the Senpai meme. I’m an anime nerd and things like this amuse me. 🙂

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/i-hope-senpai-will-notice-me

Did senpai notice me today?

Answer: No. 

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on December 9, 2014, in Information, Sam Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for talking about the usefulness of twitter. Like you, I’ve always resisted twitter, but more and more I’m thinking I’d better get over there and jump in. Especially after hearing your video.

    Plus I came upon a nice blog post naming several hashtags (Gag me. Sorry.) that look useful for writers. Here’s the link: http://writersinthestormblog.com/2014/11/12-best-hashtags-for-writers/

    By the way, you come across as an amazing personality on video. Very engaging and personable. You have huge natural talent for this, so I hope you keep making as many videos as you have time for. I’ve heard a couple of internet gurus say that videos are the best way by far to reach people on the internet. (In the context of selling things, actually.) If I had a tenth of your talent, I’d try it myself. That would be funny!

    All my best,
    Talmage

    storiform

    Like

  2. Sam says:

    I am glad to have helped you!!! Yes, Twitter definitely has its uses. I’ll probably end up talking about it often… I’m following a lot of really cool people that run fun threads all the time. Some of the past few days, I’ve never laughed so hard! XD

    Thanks for posting that link! I’ll make sure to mention it and post in the next video. That is a good resource! I actually have a few more to add, so we’ll revisit the Twitter topic for sure!

    Thank you, too, for the compliment! Actually, I get horrific stage fright and I was terrified when I made the first one. I was shaking pretty badly, in fact, that’s why I’d had like nine cups of coffee–coffee relaxes me, oddly enough. Now I’m just so used to it that I hardly notice. Besides, it doesn’t feel like standing up in front of people. It feels like talking to myself. In fact, I’m watching my camera filming me, and it feels kind of narcissistic. XD

    Don’t sell yourself short. It’s just for fun after all. Frankie and I are pleasantly surprised anyone is following our blog at all, let alone 79 people. We never expected that.

    Making the videos has become a kind of addiction. 😀 Do comment if you ever have any suggestions about content you’d like to see. 🙂

    Thanks again for taking the time to comment!!! Until next time!

    –Sam

    Like

Leave a Reply

