FIRST NOVEL COMPLETE?!?!

Good morning, beautiful people! I have a surprise for you!

I can’t tell you just how excited I am to try to find an agent now. I feel like a girl getting ready to ask a girl out on a date for the first time. Will she like me? What do I say? Am I talking about myself too much? I’m talking about myself too much aren’t I. OH GOD, SHE’S BORED. Quick, what do I do?

Okay, admittedly I am a little crazy right now. I’m on a high. I just finished my first original novel for the first time in my life. That’s been a dream of mine since I was a child. Middle school. 6th grade. Seriously! I always wanted to write a book and never really thought it could ever happen. Back then, I imagined that it took way more time! And so many people said, “Sam, I’m totally gonna read your book someday…” But I think they were kidding about as much as I was kidding about writing one. O_O

I have a long road ahead of me. The editing process is going to take several months at least. I’m scared. The moment this goes to print, it’s immortalized forever. I don’t want it to suck. And it needs to be brilliant enough to catch the attention of my One and Only agent, who I hope will like me as much as I like her. No one ever nails their agent on the first try (okay, maybe I should stop with the dating analogies… that came out oddly… and so did that), but I have a really good feeling about her anyway.

I’ve always been a little too optimistic, though. I have a weird thing about dichotomies… I can simultaneously be both things at once. Schroedinger’s Author, so to speak. I both hate and love people. I am both confident and terribly shy. I’m an introvert and an extrovert. I’m my biggest fan and my most negative critic. And here… I have the utmost faith in what I am doing. I know that my writing is GOOD. I don’t know how good, though, and I’m going to go through a roller coaster of overflowing confidence and crushing defeat, I just know it. The first draft is done… but the process has only just begun. Writing it wasn’t even the hard part. Editing will be harder yet, and then I’m on an endless road of rejection and validation.

Of course, if this thing with the agent doesn’t work out, I can always self publish. That’s a whole other argument for a whole other day, though. This is enough for you for now, right? We can talk publishing after I know more.

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on November 27, 2014, in Sam Updates, The Dead Pete Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

