Guest Vlog: Jori

Today’s Dead Pete Society guest blog features my dear friend Jori. Jori and I used to beat the snot out of each other in softball when we were in high school, then found out we went to the same college, too. We actually didn’t become CLOSE friends until I randomly called her from my contacts list on my cell phone because I was driving and too sleepy and was looking for the first interesting person to talk to in my list.

She was the first one worth talking to that answered, and the rest is pretty much history. 🙂

I’ll throw in a bonus video for you, too. Today I was suffering major writer’s block for most of the day. (more on that tomorrow, actually). Some songs just get me really pumped, so I was listening to this one and managed to knock out about 4,000 words or so because of it. I was really getting my jam on, so I thought I’d record what it looks like when I’m REALLY “in the zone.” I tend to type pretty fast, and if you pay close attention, at some points I am actually thwacking keys to the beat. (It might help if you knew the song… it’s called “Silhouette” by KANA-BOON, and it’s the 16th opening song for Naruto Shippuden). I asked Kevin from the Dead Pete Society if I should redo it with the music, and he said that it was funnier this way, so I left it out. Heads up… the key banging is pretty loud! 😀

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on November 19, 2014, in Guest Vlogs and Blogs, The Dead Pete Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

