So… I win.

Good EVENING, fellow writer peoples!

As of last night, I ‘won’ NaNoWriMo. My challenge of 50K in 30 days became 50K in 10 days. *party* *dance* Yes, I am Teh Awesome (typo intentional).

Look, here’s the proof!

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 6.23.09 PM

Now, you might be wondering… what does one do with 20 extra days of NaNoWriMo? NEED YOU ASK? I’ll be writing, of course! I went into this thing with 55K of material already written, and I’ve still got AT LEAST 100K left of story to go. NaNoWriMo might only require 50,000 words, but Achillea demands are much higher. This story will end up somewhere between 200,000-500,000, depending on how much needs to happen. Here, if you’re a stats person:

As of this moment:

NaNoWriMo Count: 51,935

Achillea Count: 111,055

Today’s count: 920 (meh)

What’s happening in story land? Well, all the good guys are out of town for a big meeting, leaving Evil Eddy in charge of the city of Vaethrre and Heike still pissed off at Torin for slighting her. Meanwhile, Myen’s family is holding her son hostage, and Achillea is now chock full of mysterious, dangerous women to sic on the enemy. My story has finally stepped into the sphere of nonstop excitement. Plot twists abound (two, in the last two days!), people are about to start dying, love–or something kind of like it, or not–blossoms in winter, and who the heck are Ghime and Larka? Meanwhile there seems to be a rebellion brewing, and hey, let’s give unfathomable power to our enemies and ask them to please kindly not use it against us.

Excuse me… I think I have a story to write. Here’s a video of me whispering, instead! (Also, bonus video for the lols)

Reality Vs. Expectation: Being a Writer (BuzzFeed)

OH, and I almost forgot! A fan (amyenah on Deviant Art) made me this SNAZZY FAN ART!! I have her permission to use it at will. This is Touka and Tobirama from Naruto. They’re the surprise ‘ship in my fan fiction “Forever,” which I’ve mentioned in a vlog before.

Story is here: http://archiveofourown.org/works/2249130/chapters/4935687

This is very special to me… because this is the first FanArt made in response to one of my works. To be fair, Frankeh herself made me a fanart for a piece that will never be finished (the inspiration for Achillea, in fact!), but Frankeh and I were becoming fast friends and I basically pounced on her and begged her for it. XD It was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

our_little_secret_by_amyenah-d861qgv

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on November 12, 2014, in Sam Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

