Distractions, Distractions. Not Every Day Can Be Majjic.

green

Sam says:

Good evening, everyone!!! As you’ve probably noticed by now, Teh Frankeh has made this website look absolutely BOSS. Look, dragons! Look, it’s organized! And over at the right you’ll see all of our wonderful linkies!!! Are you as in love with it as I am?!? So the red dragon is Frankie’s dragon and the green one is mine! That means from now on we’re using them as headers for each of our posts so you can more easily tell them apart. Also, if you look over to the right, you’ll see categories. If you’re looking for a post in particular, you can no filter by Frankie’s and mine. 🙂

In this video I talk about the uglier side of writing. Namely, distractions. I’ve been trying to write and getting sidetracked, and it can be rather frustrating. As most of the purpose of this blog is to kind of showcase what it’s like trying to make it as a writer, I figured highlighting the bad days wasn’t such a bad call. After all, several of my friends–Frankie included–have expressed their own brand of frustration at my warp speed and apparent ease. When I’m on point, I write a LOT, and quickly, and it looks pretty good on a first draft (though I subject it to 5+ edits later). I don’t mean to discourage people with that, though. I’m not even close to the fastest authors out there. That said, I figured that if you do feel that way about me and my brilliant writer fingers, it might be nice to show you that I’m having kind of a hard time right now.

And that, even as I write this, my dog’s beak is nudging my elbow away from the keyboard. Kind of hard to be an epic author with a dog draped across your lap.

One more piece of news that I didn’t mention in the video… getting that FIRST follower who you’ve never met… yeah, it feels like crack cocaine. Or, what I believe crack cocaine might feel like (as I have never done drugs of any kind… except for caffeine). Thanks for being our fans, everyone!

And extra special thanks to Skywinder, my favorite reader over on Archive of Our Own. Coming home to a full inbox of lovely comments on my work really makes my whole day. I love you. Seriously.

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on October 11, 2014, in Sam Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

