Setting Up And Getting Down.

red

Frankie here! 😀

I took on the task of setting up the WordPress and Youtube channels that will be used to chart our progress. As I mentioned in one of my vlogs, actively promoting myself has always been one of my downfalls, and so I decided to try to at least start the process with the setting up of that which people will be able to follow us by.

An hour or two, I thought, and it will be complete. How very wrong I was! I haven’t used WordPress in some time and actually preferred a different blogging site in the past. With that site, I could pretty much do what I wanted, delving into the code to create a site exactly the way I wanted. I didn’t find it so easy in WordPress, having no access to coding and limited in what themes I could use and even further limited by the customization of the themes.

Perhaps I was a little ambitious in what I wanted to do, and didn’t immediately recognize the limitations that the themes and site imposed on me. As a result, I have spent the better part of two days, setting up channels and creating the look I wanted. It still isn’t perfect, but given the fact that my patience with the entire thing is running out, it will suffice for now.

When I eventually worked everything out, and with a little help from Sam changed my idea to suit the theme (I am a stubborn Dragon and REALLY wanted it the way I envisioned!) the layout was set up, in part, the way I wanted.

With that complete, it was time to start the artwork. Given my OCD tendencies and penchant to create overly detailed illustrations, I had to change the way I normally work or I would still be drawing through the next week. I decided, if I wanted this finished today, artwork would have to be minimal, straight to the point while still being obviously mine. So, how do you create the two dragons without them being in the fashion I would normally create? By making simple outlines and putting in a couple of effects and leave it at that.

My Muse is an oriental dragon name Morauhpagen, I have always loved the orientals, and even have a large tattoo of one on my shoulder. Sam, on the other hand, has a love of the western dragons. So that is easy enough, two completely different dragons, with our favourite colours. This part of the entire two days work, took me very little time and so, draw, save, upload and done!

And there we have it. It took longer than I wanted and I hate the fact that it did, but this part of the set up is complete. Phew! Now, if only I could concentrate on some writing, this weekend might not be the complete washout I believe it to be! But the problem with my concentration, or lack thereof, is for another post.

Peace to all, and Dragon out 😉

About oneofthedragons

Samantha K. Balk and F. R. Donaldson met on An Archive of Our Own, one of the many fanfiction sites online, when Sam asked Frankie to illustrate the fanfiction that would one day lead to Sam's first novel. They've been friends ever since! This blog was created as a way to share the oftentimes difficult journey any new author experiences on the uncomfortable quest of an introvert for attention to his or her most personal work. It is meant to remind you that authors don't just appear fully fledged like a George R. R. Martin, that all of us start out unsure and feeling inadequate. Feel free to ask us anything. Sam: sammykaye9@gmail.com Frankie: reluctant.fraggle@gmail.com

Posted on October 11, 2014, in Frankeh Updates. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

